About us

The Association of Charity Lotteries in Europe (ACLEU) is an international non-profit organisation, established in 2007 to promote the charity lottery model and to give a voice to charity lotteries and their beneficiaries in the European debate on games of chance and in all matters relating to fundraising through charity lotteries. ACLEU members contribute a large share (up to 80%) of their ticket sales to a wide range of NGOs, including well-known organisations as Amnesty InternationalWWF and Unicef and many local charities.

The members of ACLEU believe charities in every European country should be enabled to use a charity lottery as a fundraising tool. We also believe that charity lotteries should operate nation-wide, financing national civil societies, and working with a licence issued by the national government. Charity lotteries have proven to be successful in for example the Netherlands, Sweden, Germany, Ireland, Norway and the United Kingdom. These lotteries have joined forces in ACLEU to promote the model throughout Europe by making politicians, policymakers and charities aware of the existence of this model. This way, more charitable organisations will be able to benefit from revenues from charity lotteries.


ACLEU intends to achieve its objectives through:

  • Promoting members' interests by developing and communicating common positions;
  • Promoting members' interests to EU institutions and all governmental and intergovernmental institutions in Europe;
  • Providing a forum for the exchange of best practices and information.

We are convinced that the charity lottery model could be applied successfully in many more countries. Charity lotteries function well alongside state lotteries, as shown by research done in various countries. Most importantly, they are an effective tool for helping NGOs all over Europe to cope with the challenge of finding adequate financial resources to perfom their tasks for the good of the whole society.

After all, charities always win with a charity lottery.

Board & secretariat

Board of directors
Mrs Eva Struving (president)

Mrs Marie Wilén

Mr Malcolm Fleming

Mr Michiel van Dijk

Mr John Fleming

Laura Santacreu
(executive director)

Roar Daatselaar
(deputy executive director)

Toon Zegers

Sébastien Garnier



Joost Mulder